Give me Dome.

Sean Hunter Williams

Domes, a fringe trend in architecture. In the end they all look pretty similar, but how one makes a dome varies. I got interested in building domes recently and I stumbled on a couple different methods. The first one is possibly the cheapest. After a coil-pot construction, the bags are then covered with adobe.

Now, I know what you’re thinking… Domes are funny looking. Personally I would avoid any kind of porthole like shapes on my dome and stick to classical windows, but to each their own, neh?

The second one I found was a Japanese company called International Dome Houses Ltd. The link here takes you to the introductory movies explaining how the process works, complete with Japanese school girl tour guide and jazzy advertising music. Love it! I got to give it to them, they made domes pretty fashionable and streamline, but these domes start at around $30,000…

View original post 181 more words

Leave a Reply

